Home » New Releases

Storm the Unpredictable

17 August 2006 No Comment

Storm the Unpredictable is a hip hop artist with a lyrical style that can instantly change the mood of any crowd, like the weather quickly changes with an approaching violent storm. His musical style, as seen on his first single, “MCs Be Killin’ Me”, is party-oriented but still gives listeners something intellectual to think about.

"My music reflects the two sides in one person. I’m a quiet person because I like to observe. But when making noise is truly necessary, I can make a comment out of nowhere and have the crowd falling out laughing or thinking seriously about something," Storm explains.

Releasing "MC’s Be Killin’ Me" was just one of the previous moves for Storm, who later released his second project "The Unexpected" – EP which also featured Priest da nomad and the production of Kokayi (Opus Akoben, BMG/France), DJ Symphoni, and DJ D’Salaam (Urban Intalek). The EP also included the blazing single "Stop Lyin’". Although self released, "The Unexpected" – EP received airplay on stations across the country and created a huge buzz. The buzz was big enough to gain Storm a distribution contract with Mullet Recordings International as their first and only hip hop artist. The EP was re-released in mid-February 2000 nationwide, as well as, a video for the single Stop Lyin’.

Storm has always been a player in hip hop culture even before he was seen on national television. He’s been featured as a finalist on B.E.T.’s Rap City Raw Footage contest and also on USA Network’s Farmclub television show where he was spotlighted on the same program as Ja-Rule and Snoop Dogg. He started rhyming seriously at a talent show during his high school years in Oxon Hill, Maryland, located just outside of Washington, D.C. After that first taste of hip hop limelight, Storm continued performing at hip hop clubs and showcases while studying biotechnology in college in Rochester, N.Y. "Growing up, my hip hop influences where Doug E. Fresh, Slick Rick, Big Daddy Kane and the whole Juice Crew," says Storm the Unpredictable, who was previously known as Quiet Storm.

He sharpened his stage skills by continually performing at clubs, colleges, and showcases including Showtime at the Apollo, Nuyorican Cafe, the Philadelphia Music Conference, and Motown’s Black History Month Conference. Storm could also be regularly found building his MC talents with the Freestyle Union, a D.C. hip hop organization that held monthly ciphers, rhyming workshops, and shows.

Storm’s music has received praise from XXL, The Source, Elemental and Insomniac magazines as well as the Washington Post, Washington City Paper, and various other print and internet magazines/newspapers. Radio listeners across the country and world-wide have heard his songs on stations such as Hot 97FM in New York and both WPGC and WKYS in Washington, D.C. His previous single, "Get Your Weight Up (Big Girl Anthem)", won the WPGC 95.5 Homejam’s competition enabling him to open up for their Springjam concert along side Ludacris, Fabolous, Ashanti, and others. The single was released in October 2002 and rose to number 2 on the national college charts. It was followed by Storm’s first full length AMALGAMATION in February 2003. His latest single, "Y’all Know The Name", off the 3 Piece, Extra Mumbo EP rose to number one on both the Rapattacklives and Rapnetwork national college radio/mixshow charts the week of January 24, 2005. With all his experience and preparation, Storm the Unpredictable is ready for hip hop’s big leagues. Still, with success just around the corner, he continues to remain humble. "My biggest message is to have fun while keeping things in perspective. We have faults and its okay to have material things, but let’s remember the things that are really important, things like God and family", Storm says.


Oxon Hill, Maryland emcee Storm the Unpredictable (seen on BET’s Rap city and in XXL, Vibe, The Source, Billboard, and Elemental magazines) returns with his sophomore release "A2: What Should Have Been". Over the past few years Storm the Unpredictable has been staying busy performing at shows from coast to coast in the U.S., winning many songwriting competitions, artist of the year awards, and also releasing the vinyl series The 3 Piece, Extra Mumbo Vol. 1 and 2 along with his fellow crew members Priest da Nomad and Poemcees. Now in 2006, Storm the Unpredictable returns with Domination Recordings to release his new album "A2: What Should Have Been" featuring classic boom bap beats from The Unknown, Decompoze (DC), Brainstorm Sounds, C. Walker, Symphoni and Supa Friendz member Danja Mowf. Plus guest spots from Priest da Nomad (Source magazine), DP of Poemcees (Def Poetry Jam), Almond Joy, Ty-Riek and Xavier. Storm’s latest release is very diverse but cohesive at the same time, with songs that are uplifting, funny, serious, socially conscious, and straight lyrical fire. The CD is also enhanced featuring videos, live performances and exclusive tracks. This album is a must have for every true fan of hip hop!


1. Welcome
2. The Reintroduction – featuring Naturalaw DP of POEMCEES
3. Oh My God
4. Suplex Reloaded – featuring Priest da nomad & Ty-Riek
5. Get Your Weight Up remix
6. All About
7. Grown Folks Biz
8. I’m Gone-remix
9. Darker The Berry remix
10. Contradictions
11. In Case You Forgot – featuring Priest da nomad
12. Please Forgive Me
13. Y’all Know The Name
14. Regardless

Submitted by: