Home » New Releases

Alternate Reality (Dumi RIGHT and Cadence) proudly presents: Legitimate Raw


25 September 2010 No Comment

Upon first hearing about the crew Alternate Reality, one might assume that they are a new to the scene. That is far from the case however. While the group may be a new construct, both the members are seasoned purveyors of hip hop with substance.

Dumi RIGHT was introduced to audiences in the early 90’s as a member of Zimbabwe Legit — the pioneering crew widely regarded as the first African hip hop group to gain international recognition. At the same time, Cadence was making a name for himself as an MC, DJ and producer; as one half of the highly respected indie hip hop duo Raw Produce, and then later as a solo artist. Their paths converged on a number of occasions over the course of the last decade, with collaborations on various projects that most notably include: Zimbabwe Legit – House of Stone, Cadence – Creative Commerce and O.U.O – of unknown origin.

Now Dumi RIGHT and Cadence have joined forces as Alternate Reality and are proud to present Legitimate Raw – a limited edition vinyl EP (ONLY 300 hand-numbered copies), which introduces listeners to the group, while also providing several exclusive songs and remixes from their respective catalogs.

Legitimate Raw finds Cadence and Dumi RIGHT serving up insightful and incisive lyrics, coupled with richly textured beats to deliver their unique brand of artistry to the masses. The release features production work by Cadence, Saint and Lord Lamont (Khz Productions), and guest appearances by hip hop luminaries YZ, Chubb Rock and Prince Po (Organized Konfusion), as well as underground favorites C Rayz Walz, Breez Evahflowin’ and Vast Aire.

Copies of the limited edition, hand-numbered Legitimate Raw EP can be purchased at www.phmusic.bandcamp.com

The exclusive vinyl EP can be ordered for $25 plus appropriate shipping and handling. As a bonus, purchase also includes an immediate digital download of the 8 tracks in your choice of 320k mp3, FLAC, or just about any other high fidelity format you could possibly desire. Note: The digital download is ONLY available with purchase of the vinyl EP and cannot be bought separately.

Legitimate Raw is the next step in the musical lineage of two artists who have already crafted an impressive catalog of releases, working alongside an A-list cast of hip hop veterans and respected independent artists. This release will give listeners an exclusive window into the creative mind state of these longtime denizens of the underground, giving the people what they have been asking for.

Product will begin shipping on October 4th, but you can begin placing pre-orders now.


Alternate Side:
1. Legitimate Raw — Alternate Reality*
2.What They Want — Dumi RIGHT feat. Breez Evahflowin’ and C Rayz Walz**
3. For a Reason — Cadence*
4. Definition of a Great Mind — Alternate Reality feat. YZ*

Reality Side:
1. Get A Grip — Alternate Reality**
2. Fast Talk — Alternate Reality***
3. Wake ‘Em Up (Remix) — Dumi RIGHT feat. Vast Aire and Chubb Rock*
4. No Can Do (Remix) — Cadence feat. Prince Po*

* produced by Cadence
** produced by Saint
*** produced by Lord Lamont

Submitted by: