Get Dropox | Luno Bitcoin | Ovex Crypto | Binance | Get Free Crypto - Morpher
Africasgateway.com

XXL Mag interviews Lee,YFM

A pimp named Sarkozy

• AG Veteran
    • REP: +17/-52
  • Thorough-bred
    • View Profile
Listening to Proof’s “Forgive Me” and trying to get my mind around the fact that hip-hop has lost yet another rapper. My heart goes out to his family and friends, to Eminem and D12. Rest in peace Proof.

Since we all know that the mainstream media is gonna take the hip-hop violence angle and run with it (speaking of which, what’s up in Las Vegas?), I thought I might focus today on some of the positive stuff that’s going on in hip-hop.

Like in South Africa, for instance, where hip-hop is helping the country heal from apartheid, empowering a generation of youth, and fueling community development projects. All this, and making dope music.

Since I’m still learning about South African hip-hop, I thought I would enlist the help of my girl Lee Kasumba, editor of South Africa’s hip-hop book Y Magazine, DJ and producer at YFM Radio, and a contributor to MTV Africa. Here’s my convo with the Queen of Joburg.

How did you get into hip-hop?
I grew up listening to hip-hop. Truthfully I don’t know what my entry point was, but I do remember that my dad used to travel a lot and he bought me and my sisters hip-hop albums. There was always a hip-hop track that became the soundtrack to a changing point in my life.