Home » New Releases, Video

Esteemed Producer and Emcee Black Milk Releases No Poison No Paradise Today


15 October 2013 No Comment

Today, esteemed producer and rapper Black Milk releases No Poison No Paradise, his fifth full-length solo album on Fat Beats Records x his own Computer Ugly label. It’s been a full three years since his previous album, Album Of The Year,  and NPNP has already been welcomed with rave reviews from critics, with HipHopDX deeming it “one of the best albums of the year.” With the exception of “Sonny Jr. (Dreams),” which he co-produced with Grammy Award winners Dwele and Robert Glasper and “Deion’s House,” which was produced by Detroit-based band Will Session, the album was produced entirely by Black Milk.

Black’s visceral storytelling skills are put on display in NPNP as we follow the dreams of semi-autobiographical character named Sonny Jr., about his experiences growing up in a tough working-class streets of Detroit during the 80’s and 90’s. This concept was not initially planned as Black explains in a recent Huffington Post interview,”In the beginning, I had about four to five songs done, and when I listened back to those songs I noticed that they all had a certain connection and lyrical similarity to the point where it felt like a story was being told. So, I built the rest of the album around those songs and created this character who’s basically in a dream state throughout the album, seeing different moments from his days as a youth to his life as an adult.”

Black Milk released his debut album Sound Of The City, Vol. 1 in 2005 at the age of 23. Four albums and seven years later, NPNP showcases his growth and maturity both as an artist and as a man. Unlike other artists, Black rarely releases loosies between projects, which is almost unheard of these days. Working diligently in private, often for years at a time, Black’s work ethic and attention to detail belies today’s unrelenting appetite for media. But when Black finally does unleash new material, fans and critics take notice. No Poison No Paradise features guests Grammy Award winners Black Thought of The RootsRobert Glasper, and Dwele, as well as long-time collaborators Mel, and Ab, and artists Quelle Chris, Tone Trezure. Black Milk produced every track on the album with the exception of “Sonny Jr. (Dreams),” which was produced by Black Milk, Robert Glasper, and Dwele.

Black Milk’s No Poison No Paradise Tour with Quelle and DJ Sober is currently underway. Check below for remaining tour dates.

Pre-order No Poison No Paradise on iTunes: https://itunes.apple.com/us/album/no-poison-no-paradise-deluxe/id690380563?ls=1

Deluxe 12″ LP: http://www.fatbeats.com/collections/pre-order/products/black-milk-no-poison-no-paradase-deluxe-vinyl-edition-2xlp

Deluxe CD: http://www.fatbeats.com/products/black-milk-no-poison-no-paradise-deluxe-cd-edition

12″ LP: http://www.fatbeats.com/products/black-milk-no-poison-no-paradise-2xlp

CD: http://www.fatbeats.com/products/black-milk-no-poison-no-paradise-cd

Submitted by: