Home » New Releases

Grandson – Loot Skywalker


18 January 2011 No Comment

Newport News, VA — It’s a well known fact that there are no real overnight sensations in the music business. A true artist often takes several years to perfect their craft, build their fanbase and sharpen their work ethic before hitting the mainstream.

Virginia lyricist Grandson has been buzzing in the Southeast for some time now, and is finally ready to take his sound worldwide with the Loot Skywalker mixtape on January 25, 2011.

Loot Skywalker showcases a variety of freestyles, classic Grandson material and fresh new tracks. Every lyric delivers hardcore angst that the young rapper has become accustomed to in his aptly nicknamed hometown ‘Bad Newz’. Also the home of NBA star Allen Iverson and NFL baller Michael Vick, Newport News has definitely earned a reputation for its tough-as-nails neighborhoods.

Grandson feels strongly that his rough upbringing plays the most important role in how his music will relate to fans everywhere.

“I have survived one of the most dangerous and poverty stricken cities in America, with a real life story to tell,” Grandson says of his hometown. “Bad Newz is a city that has been shaped by many triumphs and pitfalls from its famous residents. I think the poverty and drug culture has always pushed some to want more, and they chose other avenues to focus their talents. It might be something in the water.“

Grandson is debuting a series of freestyles and original tracks combined on Loot Skywalker. He explains that the track “Running Out of Time,” produced by Vybe Beatz, is one of his personal favorite songs on the project, and that he is confident Hip Hop fans will enjoy the energy of the original tracks from DJ L.E.S. (LL Cool J, Will Smith, Jennifer Lopez), Kyze Beats (Cam’ron, N.O.R.E., Angie Stone), Vybe Beatz (Pastor Troy, Roscoe Dash, JR Writer) and Beat Arkitectz (Huey, Chyna Whyte).

“DJ L.E.S.  has been a mentor in the business, and he produced the single ‘I Got It 4 Sale.’ Multi-platinum producer Kyze Beats did ‘That’s What It Iz’, and underground star Pop-a-Lot is also featured. Aside from the dope beats, I want fans to feel my serious and dramatic approach to songwriting, and also understand my raw commentary.”

While Grandson has kept his regional supporters quite happy with music over the years, he enjoys finding common interests with listeners everywhere. Ultimately, he’d like people across America and in other countries to find joy in his music as well. He approaches songwriting with a bigger picture in mind.

“My sound has a balance,” he asserts. “Sometimes I have a hard-edged, dangerous style, but I also like softer and lighter melodies at times. I make gangster street tunes, but with relevant social commentary.  I hope with gaining new fans I can begin to experience different cultures, and express my understanding to these different people. I really want people to listen, understand and love the music.”

Download “Codiene 2” from Loot Skywalker:


Watch the Loot Skywalker EPK:


Follow him on Twitter


Loot Skywalker tracklist

01. Shawn Kemp – prod by Vybe Beatz

02. Who Run It

03. Bean Vs Lean – prod by Beat Arkitectz

04. Codiene 2

05. Lean To The Side – prod by The Kickdrums

06. HD – prod by Vybe Beats

07. Runnin Out Of Time – prod by Vybe Beatz

08. Show U How To Get It

09. These Boyz Ridin Hot

10. Truths Comin Out

11. I Got It For Sale – prod by DJ LES & M-Grand

12. That’s What It Iz – prod by Kyze Beats

13. Get My Money Up

14. DopeBoy Back

15. Ballin Iz My Attitude

16. She In Luv With My Gangsta

17. Shorty Got Me Gone

18. Slippin ft. Pop-A-Lot

19. I Be Everywhere

Submitted by: